CA bypasses Duterte appointees | The Manila Times

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte chairs the 54th Cabinet Meeting at Malacañan Palace on May 30, 2022. KING RODRIGUEZ/ PRESIDENTIAL PHOTO

(UPDATE) THE Appointments Commission (CA) bypassed Wednesday, for lack of quorum, the interim appointments of five officials to three constitutional bodies.

The AC was due to hold a caucus today – the last day of the Congressional session – to vote on whether President-elect Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. should have a free hand to choose new officials for the Electoral Commission (Comelec), Audit Commission (CoA) and Civil Service Commission (CSC).

Comelec president Saiamen Pangarungan and poll commissioners George Erwin Garcia and Aimee Torrefranca-Neri, CoA president Rizalina Justol and CSC president Karlo Alexei Nograles did not get the green light from the CA.

“[They were] bypassed,” said Senator Cynthia Villar when asked about the appointments of Pangarungan, Garcia, Torrefranca-Neri, Justol and Nograles.

All were appointed by President Rodrigo Duterte in March. Their terms were due to expire on February 2, 2029.

Get the latest news

delivered to your inbox

Sign up for the Manila Times daily newsletters

By registering with an email address, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the terms of use and the privacy policy.

The AC was unable to proceed with the hearing due to lack of quorum. Congress adjourned sine die on June 3. The 18th Congress ends on June 30.

Senate Majority Leader Juan Miguel “Migz” Zubiri suggested Monday that Marcos be given carte blanche in choosing new heads of constitutional bodies.

The senator said many future members of Marcos’ cabinet expressed hope that Congress would give the new president freedom to appoint officials.

Zubiri noted that in February 2016, Senator Juan Ponce Enrile invoked Article 20 of the AC rules and explained that the nomination by the incumbent president would deprive the new president of the freedom to choose the people he wants. represent it.

“I tell you, the ambassadors deployed abroad are representatives of the president. It would be unfair to the next president if these people were appointed by the incumbent president,” Zubiri said Monday, citing Enrile.

Zubiri noted that former President Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino 3e gave the then-incoming Duterte administration “a free hand to pick the picks of its constitutional commissions.”

“Let’s put it in context. There’s already a precedent. I’m not doing this out of the blue. Why don’t we leave that to the new president? Sana (hopefully) we can give that courtesy to the new president,” he said. he added. he said during a briefing.

Comments are closed.