BARMM obtains the support of Palace | The Manila Times

PRESIDENT Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. pledged his administration will continue its support for the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) as he recognized the important work the caretaker government must complete in three years.

Speaking to newly sworn members of the Bangsamoro Transitional Authority (BTA) Malacañang on Friday, August 12, Marcos acknowledged the “much work” the body would have to accomplish in three years, from enacting basic laws and from fiscal policy to the conduct of elections.

“Such important laws to pass in three years is not an easy task, and that’s why I will be here as the head of the national government to support BARMM,” he said.

The president also noted how the Covid-19 pandemic has made it “very, very difficult” for BTA to do its job.

“We are being given another chance because of the extension of the Transitional Authority. We are being given another chance, but we have three years, and three years is not long for this rather basic and fundamental legislation and very important that must be produced now by the Transitional Authority,” he said.

Get the latest news

delivered to your inbox

Sign up for the Manila Times daily newsletters

By registering with an email address, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the terms of use and the privacy policy.

Marcos further underlined the need to complete the works in 2025, as there will be no more extensions.

“In 2025, we will no longer have extensions of authority, and we will hold elections,” he added.

Republic Act 11593 reset the first regular BARMM elections and would now be synchronized with the 2025 national elections.

The law also extended the transition period and allowed the BTA to continue as an interim government in the region. He also mandated the president to appoint 80 new members who will serve until June 2025.

Meanwhile, Marcos stressed the importance of representation within the BTA.

The new composition of the BTA is dominated by the MILF with 41 candidates and 39 from the government.

The majority of their workforce is made up of lawyers, accountants, engineers, teachers, doctors, architects, media professionals, politicians, former elected officials locals and bureaucrats.

They are representatives of the provinces of Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Lanao del Norte, Sulu, Basilan and Tawi-Tawi, as well as members of the Bangsamoro community of North Cotabato, indigenous peoples who are not Moro, the Kalagan or Kagan community. in Davao Oriental, and Christian or settler communities in Davao City and Cotabato City.

Comments are closed.